02 Governance, Structure & People MEMBERS OF THE CEFC BOARD



The following individuals were all Members of the CEFC Board throughout the year. All Board Members serve in a part-time, independent and non-executive capacity.

Ms Jillian Broadbent AO


Ms Broadbent has had a distinguished career in the banking sector. In 2003, she was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for service to economic and financial development in Australia and the community through administrative support for cultural and charitable groups. Ms Broadbent was a member of the board of the Reserve Bank of Australia from 1998 to 2013.

Ms Broadbent also serves on the board of Woolworths Limited, is chair of the board of Swiss Re Life and Health Australia Limited and Chancellor of the University of Wollongong. She was a director of ASX Limited (February 2010 to October 2012), Special Broadcasting Corporation (SBS), Qantas Airways Limited, Westfield Property Trusts, Woodside Petroleum Limited and Coca-Cola Amatil Limited (1999–2010).

The CEFC benefits from Ms Broadbent’s leadership, reputation and experience gained over her career and as chair of the CEFC Expert Review Panel.

Ms Broadbent was appointed with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Mr Paul Binsted


Mr Binsted has extensive experience in investment banking and other aspects of corporate financial advice. Mr Binsted’s breadth of experience comes from his previous position as managing director and joint

CEO of Lazard in Australia, and senior roles with other investment banks, including Citigroup Australia.

Mr Binsted was a member of the Australian Financial Forum (Johnson Report) Panel of Experts into growing the Australian Financial Services Industry. He is also a former chairman of both the State Rail Authority of NSW and the Sydney Ports Corporation.

Mr Binsted was appointed with effect from 6 February 2013 for five years.

Mr Michael Carapiet


Mr Carapiet is chair of the Safety, Return to Work and Support Board covering Workers’ Compensation Insurance, Motor Accidents Authority and Lifetime Care in NSW. He is the chair of Smartgroup Corporation Limited and chair of Adexum Capital Limited.

Mr Carapiet is a board member of Infrastructure Australia and Link Group, and on the advisory board of Norton Rose Australia. He was the deputy chair and board member of the Export Finance and Insurance Corporation from 2005 to 2011.

Mr Carapiet retired from Macquarie Group in July 2011, having joined Macquarie in 1985. He held several senior executive roles at Macquarie, and was a member of the Executive Committee from 2005 until his retirement, when he was executive chairman of Macquarie Capital and Macquarie Securities.

Mr Carapiet was appointed with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Mr Ian Moore


Mr Moore was a member of the CEFC Expert Review Panel in 2011 and 2012. He has

22 years of banking and finance experience, predominantly at Bankers Trust. He was the head of the Bankers Trust corporate finance business and a member of the bank’s Credit Committee.

Mr Moore was previously a board member and on the audit committee of the responsible entity for four listed and one unlisted Challenger Infrastructure and Property Funds. He was also previously on the advisory committee for the Challenger Emerging Markets Global Infrastructure Fund. He was also a board member and chair of the risk committee of hedge fund Artesian Capital Management.

Mr Moore was appointed with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Ms Anna Skarbek


Ms Skarbek is CEO of ClimateWorks Australia. She has previously worked in investment banking in London, at Climate Change Capital, and in Melbourne at Macquarie Bank, and as senior policy adviser to the Victorian Deputy Premier.

Ms Skarbek is also a trustee of the Sustainable Melbourne Fund and a member of the Grattan Institute’s Energy Program Reference Panel. She is a former director of the Carbon Market Institute, Linking Melbourne Authority, Amnesty International Australia and The Big Issue Australia. Ms Skarbek was a member of the Australian Government’s Energy White Paper Reference Panel, Land Sector Carbon and Biodiversity Board and NGO Roundtable on Climate Change.

Ms Skarbek holds First Class Honours Degrees in Commerce and Law from Monash University and is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Skarbek was appointed with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Mr Andrew Stock


Mr Stock is an experienced professional having spent more than 40 years in the energy sector, including in senior management roles in petroleum and petrochemical companies in Australia and overseas. Mr Stock is a director of Alinta Holdings and Horizon Oil Limited, and past director of Geodynamics Limited and Silex Systems Limited.

In his previous long career at Origin, Mr Stock was responsible for Origin’s major capital developments in upstream petroleum, power generation and low emissions technology businesses. He is chair of the Energy Advisory Boards at Adelaide and Melbourne Universities.

Mr Stock was appointed with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Mr Martijn Wilder AM


Martijn Wilder AM is a partner with Baker & McKenzie where he established and heads the firm’s Global Environmental Markets and Climate Change practice. Mr Wilder is also an adjunct professor of Law at the Australian National University and an affiliate of the Cambridge Centre for Climate Change Mitigation Research, Department of Land Economy at the University of Cambridge.

His other roles include: chair of the NSW Climate Change Council; governing board member of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Partnership; a director and governor of the World Wildlife Fund; a director of the Climate Council and a member of the Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists. In 2015, Mr Wilder was appointed to chair the Victorian Government’s Independent Review Committee of its Climate Change Act. Mr Wilder was previously chairman of Low Carbon Australia.

Mr Wilder holds a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) from the University of Sydney, LLB Honours from the Australian National University, LLM from the University of Cambridge and has studied at the Hague Academy Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations. He is also a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Wilder was appointed with effect from 6 February 2013 for five years.